I’m tired. Let’s do a Whole30!

28 Feb
via
via

Those of you closest to me know that I’ve been struggling with fatigue for a while (now everybody knows!!!). Docs found a Vitamin D deficiency (twice), and taking D every day has been helpful, but most days, I still don’t feel like my usual (or is it old?) self .

Since (other than the D-ficiency) docs are stumped, I decided to take matters into my own hands and try something new. It’s a program called the Whole30, and it’s designed to be a sort of cleanse/lifestyle change that brings awareness to how the things you put in your body affect you. It’s developed by Whole9, “a community focused on health, fitness, balance and sanity, all built on a foundation of real food and healthy nutritional habits.”

Here’s Whole9’s elevator pitch:

We eat real food – meat, fish, eggs, vegetables, fruit, healthy oils, nuts and seeds. We choose foods that were raised, fed and grown naturally, and foods that are nutrient-dense, with lots of naturally occurring vitamins and minerals.

This is not a “diet” – we eat as much as we need to maintain strength, energy, activity levels and a healthy body weight. We aim for well-balanced nutrition, so we eat animals and a significant amount of plants.

Eating like this has helped us to look, feel, live and perform our best, and reduces our risk for a variety of lifestyle-related diseases and conditions.

Doing a Whole30 is the best way to get started. They call it a short-term nutritional reset. When I tell people that I’m doing one and that it means I won’t be eating grains, dairy, added sugars, legumes (what?!), or drinking alcohol for 30 DAYS, most people think I’m crazy.

But what I think is crazy is how inexplicably tired I’ve been.

I know it’s not sustainable. It’s not a Whole365. But it will be enlightening to see how my body responds to the absence of certain foods, as well as their reintroduction (one at a time, if I can) after 30 days.

Anyway. I’m only on Day 4, so I don’t know if it will work. But I think it will. I have to hope it will. 

And if the testimonials are true (and I know some are, because I have friends who have done it), then I don’t think it’s crazy to expect great things. I’ll definitely follow this up with a recap when I’m done, and maybe even check in along the way.

Wish me luck!

*Note: This was originally posted on my family blog.

One Response to “I’m tired. Let’s do a Whole30!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whole30: FAQs | GOOD SKIN DAY - April 5, 2013

    […] few friends reached out to me during the process to express their interest in giving the Whole30 a try. But, since it’s rather intimidating, […]

Leave a Reply

