Red Lips

4 Feb

I love the look of red lipstick. Matte, gloss, orange-red, blue-red–I love it all.

What I don’t love is how much work it takes! I’m not the kind of girl who even thinks to touch-up her makeup in the middle of things, so a pop of red on my lips usually only lasts as long as it takes to get through my first drink.

So, I’ve been experimenting a bit, along with asking friends for tricks of the trade.

Lots of folks swear by filling in their lips with a matching lip pencil first. I’m not a fan, because I usually end up with a ring around the perimeter of my lips.

I started using Maybelline SuperStay 10HR Stain Gloss. I put on a few layers and then apply my ‘stick. So far, this has worked best.

But as I was reviewing some of “for my face” pins, I came across this cute little tutorial from The Beauty Department:

I’m going to have to try it out!

Do you rock a bold lip? What are your tricks?

4 Responses to “Red Lips”

  1. missglamourist February 4, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    Reblogged this on Miss Glamourist and commented:
    Red lips for VDAY!

  2. Must Have Boxes February 4, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    So pretty. I love a red lip!

    – KW
    musthaveboxes.com

  3. thegreatzambini February 5, 2013 at 12:32 am #

    That`s a great idea! Lipstick always runs a little, especially darker colors, so I`m looking forward to trying this with my vampy ‘aged wine’ lip-crayon.

    • Nina B. February 5, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

      Please report back with how it went! goodskinday [at] gmail [dot] com

Leave a Reply

