CAUTION: Comfort Zone Ends Ahead

6 Dec

I was experiencing a serious case of the Needtoshops yesterday (I’ve been suffering for a while, actually). Fortunately, Macy’s was having a huge sale, which was the perfect antidote!

Sometimes, it’s nice to shop with a specific event in mind–it keeps me focused. Last night, I was shopping for an upcoming wedding. After taking cocktail dress inventory in my own closet and deciding it was time to part with most of what I have (eBay/consign/donate), I headed for the dress section. As is usually the case in department stores, I was underwhelmed. But! I did find one pretty little number that was a criminally good deal:

[ralphlauren.com]

[ralphlauren.com]

But here’s the thing:
From the front, I was like, “DAMN! This might be the hottest I’ve ever looked!” From the side, I was like, “DAMN! Is my butt really that big??”

The silhouette isn’t something I usually ever wear. I’m all about cinching my (comparatively) tiny waist and rocking a free hip because it’s classic, flattering, and comfortable. But standing in that dressing room, sizing myself up, (contemplating the ridiculously good price), I decided to go for it: throw my comfort zone to the wind and channel the fabulousness of some of my favorite curvy ladies:

Christina Hendricks [whorange.net]

Christina Hendricks [whorange.net]

Mindy Kaling [stylenetwork.com]

Mindy Kaling [stylenetwork.com]

Tanesha Awasthi [girlwithcurves.com]

Tanesha Awasthi [girlwithcurves.com]

Now, the question is: How do I style it?

3 Responses to “CAUTION: Comfort Zone Ends Ahead”

  1. Sylvie December 6, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    Try to wear with longer jackets that cover up the butt (elongate the area) making it appear slimmer. Just make sure that the jacket has a slimming shape in the waist. Try to experiment with angled or diagonal lines, such as stripes, seams or diagonally placed pockets. And cheers! šŸ™‚

    • Nina B. December 7, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      Thanks, Sylvie! These are great tips, and ones I’ll keep in mind for when I wear leggings or skinny jeans. With this dress, though, I’m really going to try to embrace my butt instead of cover it up, you know?

      • Sylvie December 7, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

        You`re ABSOLUTELY RIGHT. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

