Facial Symmetry

17 Oct

Scientists have been saying for a long time that a symmetrical face = a beautiful face. While I don’t think this is true from an aesthetic point of view, it’s hard to argue with science and biology.

That’s why I’m really intrigued by this project by Julian Wolkenstein. He takes peoples’ photos, and makes a mirror image of the left side, then the right side–creating two new, symmetrical versions of the subject.

The results are really astounding, but I only wish we could see a third picture: the way the person actually looks.

[Julian Wolkenstein]

If you have an iPhone or a webcam, you can use the artist’s app or website to submit your own picture to be symmetricized (I made up that word). Check out echoism.orgfor the full gallery.

Or you just use Paint like I did here (freaky):

Left: The original
Center: My left side
Right: My right side

Which is your good side?

2 Responses to “Facial Symmetry”

  1. Katie Tritt October 17, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    whhoooaaa, either way your eyebrows look great

    • Nina B. October 17, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

      Why thank you! Pretty scary though…at least that middle picture. I blame the lighting. Like my new hairdos?

Leave a Reply

