Facials: Aestheticians the New Dermatologists?

17 Aug

winerose.com

In my last post, I mentioned that I won a facial at the Summerize Your Skin seminar. This was VERY exciting to me, since I’m obviously interested in skin health and who doesn’t love to win things?!

The facial starts with a consultation, since you can’t really get a quality facial without a consultation first. Kerian asked me a lot of questions, like:

  • What do you like/dislike about your skin? I like how soft my skin is, but don’t like that it’s often dry and sensitive. She confirmed that it is dry, but explained that it’s not an internal issue (meaning drinking more water won’t help it), and is instead a topical issue (meaning I’m putting something on it that dries it out).
  • Do you regularly have break outs? I break out right around my period. Just from looking at my blemishes, she could tell that about half of them were hormonal, and the other half were caused by dirt and oils. (I asked her for more information about how she could tell, but she just shrugged and said, “Experience.”)
  • How often do you wash your face? Once a day, at night. She wanted to get me started on twice a day, but if you’re only going to wash once, nighttime is the right time.
  • What do you use to wash your face? Clean & Clear for sensitive skin. “Well there’s your problem,” she said. “Have you ever seen a commercial for Clean & Clear?”

“Yes.”

“And who do they market to?”

“Teenagers.”

“And how old are you?”

“26.”

“Need I say more?”

She’s right. I started using Clean & Clear while I was in high school. At the time, it was the only thing that worked for me. And it kept working for me (or so I thought), so I kept using it. But because teenagers’ skin is naturally oilier than adults’, even the stuff for sensitive skin was drying me out.

  • Do you exfoliate? No, not really. Turns out I should. And I knew that, but I could also tell that my skin– since it was damaged from my teen skincare regimen– couldn’t handle it.
  • How often do you shampoo your hair? Every other day. Even though I cut back from every day to every other day (at the time), it’s still too much cleansing for a part of your body that needs a more natural oil production schedule (otherwise the oil production goes into overdrive). Kerian suggested twice a week, which sounded a little gross to me, but I gave it a shot (future post alert!).

For the actual facial, I got a customized Phytomer treatment using seaweed from the Brittany coast. It included cleansing, exfoliation, steaming, extractions, massage (neck, shoulders, face), mask, and sunscreen, since I did it in the middle of the day and went out into the sun after.

At the end, she writes up a little prescription-type note that suggests products and usage. And if you don’t need something, she’ll tell you. She skipped the toner for me and got me on a new cleanser (for grown-ups!) and a weekly exfoliant. She also told me when she wants to see me again; she said I should get facials twice a year: before winter and before summer (and I imagine this is true for a lot of people).

I was so amazed at the clinical nature of the whole experience (while still feeling pampered), that I was kicking myself for not doing it sooner.

Coming soon: reviews of my new grown-up products and what happened with my hair washing experiment.

One Response to “Facials: Aestheticians the New Dermatologists?”

  1. Katie Tritt August 29, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    Oooooh, I want to hear how these go!

Leave a Reply

