I’m a loner, Dottie, a rebel.

19 May

Benefit Cosmetics San Francisco

I snagged a sample of Benefit’s You Rebel tinted moisturizer (SPF 15) a while back and finally tried it out the other day. When I first dispensed it onto to my finger I thought, “Oh no, this is going to be an oily mess.” But after applying it, I was pleasantly surprised. I admit that I was having a good skin day (cha-ching!), but the coverage was amazing. Even more phenomenal, and probably the best part, was that it made the makeup I put on top of it look SO GOOD.

Here’s what I put on my face:
1. Eucerin Everyday Protection Face Lotion for Sensitive Skin with SPF 30
2. Benefit You Rebel tinted moisturizer
3. Mary Kay powdered foundation
4. Rimmel London blush
5. Maybelline Falsies m
ascara

I skipped my Almay concealer for under my eyes, and probably could have skipped the powder foundation too, but it has become somewhat of a security blanket for me!

Some reviewers have mentioned that it smells bad. I actually thought it smelled really good! But when cosmetics smell at all, I get concerned that it might have added fragrance that will irritate my skin. I didn’t experience an issue, but then again, I only wore the stuff for a day.

I’m a fan of Benefit cosmetics. They really get the fresh, natural look that a lot of people—myself included—strive for, while still having some retro pin-up glamour injected (and their packaging– augh, I’m such a sucker). I think You Rebel is the perfect moisturizer for the winter when you’re feeling a little pale and can get away with using SPF 15 instead of something higher (you know, unless you’re skiing or something).

2 Responses to “I’m a loner, Dottie, a rebel.”

  1. Katie Tritt May 21, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    I always hear good things about tinted moisturizers but have yet to try one. . .this is making me thing it could be a good summertime investment. . . hmmm. Any others that you would recommend? For cheapies like me.

    • goodskinday May 22, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      Hey Katie! Funny you should ask– I just saw a commercial for Almay’s Smart Shade line with SPF. Apparently, you get a general shade (light, light medium, medium, medium deep), and it somehow (magic?) senses and matches your skin tone upon application– that’s why it’s called Smart Shade. Now, if this works, I am IN because I always have the hardest time figuring out the right shade to buy. Let me know if you give this stuff a try!

Leave a Reply

