Bathtime: Gentle Bubbles

4 Apr

actress Jeanne Crain from "Margie"

Remember how I said I can’t (shouldn’t) take hot showers? Well, I cheat.

Occasionally, I can’t resist a hot, luxurious bubble bath. So if I’m going to irritate my skin with really hot water, I better use some SERIOUSLY gentle bubbles. The problem with this is trying to find bubbles that are both gentle AND produce the movie-quality look that I deserve.

I’ve spent a few hours in Lush, listening to salespeople discuss their bubble bars and how fantastic they are, but I really haven’t been all that impressed (except they turn the bath water fun colors). For a while, I was buying CVS brand gentle bubble bath with aloe. This product is actually pretty good, but you have to use between half and all of the 48 fl.oz. bottle (which retails for $4.99) for just one bath.

And then I found it. A glass bottle with colorful packaging, the only one at HomeGoods, Spa Paradisa‘s bath soak is exactly what I’ve been looking for. They have a variety of products along with the bath soak like cream body wash, body butter, hand and nail cream, and candles in four different scents: Renew (coconut and frangipani with pomegranate extract), Indulge (jasmine and ylang-ylang with passionflower extract), Revive (watermelon and pink grapefruit with pomegranate extract) and Love (passionfruit).

The 16.9 fl.oz. bottle was about $5.00. I got Renew, which smells amazing and makes my skin feel so silky smooth. The active ingredients are:

  • Green Tea Extract, which is an antioxidant and protects from free-radical damage with a skin calming and soothing effect.
  • Pomegranate Extract,  which is also an antioxidant and is rich in Vitamin C (which aids in the production of collagen, a protein that aids in the growth of cells and blood vessels and gives skin its firmness and strength)

The worst part? It’s made by a company in the UK and sold online at Next.co.uk (and the bath soak isn’t always there). I search for it every time I’m in Marshalls or HomeGoods, but it hasn’t turned up since. Also, UK = £, which are > $.

But the best part? I got five baths out of this bottle, all with movie-style bubbles.

2 Responses to “Bathtime: Gentle Bubbles”

  1. Mom April 4, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    I will be on the look out for the Spa Paradisa products on this coast. They sound yummy.

  2. Katie Tritt May 6, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Love the equation

Leave a Reply

