Exfoliants: Too Harsh in Winter?

2 Apr

from lifehackery.com

I didn’t mention exfoliant in my post about my winter face wash routine. That’s because I skip it during the colder months because I find it to be too harsh when the wind and general low temperature (too low!) are already doing more than their fair share of beating up my skin.

So when I was at the Clarins counter getting my makeup done in October (already cold enough for my winter routine), the girl oohed and aahed over my skin (don’t you just love that?), and said, “You must exfoliate.” And I said, “Actually, I don’t. At least not when it’s cold out because the weather is already so harsh on my skin and blah, blah.” And then she said, “Oh, you don’t exfoliate? You should.”

Now wait a second. It looks like I exfoliate. It feels like exfoliate. She figured I exfoliated. And now she’s saying I should?

Five months later, it’s still winter (dear god will it ever end?), and I still haven’t exfoliated, but I think about it from time to time. Should I? Does the Clarins girl know best, or do I? So I decided to do a little research and round up some exfoliation tips and techniques for sensitive skin.

  1. Baking soda. Add about a dime-sized amount to your gentle skin cleanser (like milky Cetaphil) and wash your face, gingerly rubbing it in with your fingertips.
  2. Buy some of the gentle stuff. The reviews for Dove Gentle Exfoliating Daily Facial Cleanser are pretty darn good. In the comments of a prior post, reader Sheila mentioned that St. Ives’ Apricot Scrub is too harsh, and I agree. I think it’s great for elbows and knees, but it’s just too scratchy for a face.
  3. Use a towel! After washing your face, pat with a dry towel– rub gently if you need to. The towel will exfoliate your skin and dry your face. Man, I love things that do double duty.

Please remember to moisturize every day and especially after exfoliating!

As always, all links are 100% unsolicited.

One Response to “Exfoliants: Too Harsh in Winter?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Facials: Aestheticians the New Dermatologists? « goodskinday - August 17, 2011

    […] you exfoliate? No, not really. Turns out I should. And I knew that, but I could also tell that my skin– […]

Leave a Reply

