Nothing to Hide: Department Store vs. Drugstore Concealers

11 Mar

The last time I had my makeup done was in October. I went to the Clarins counter at a department store and asked for a simple—but glamorous—Betty Draper look:

from blogs.babble.com

While I ended up doing a lot of touch-ups once I got home (as is usually the case when someone else does my makeup; they don’t know me!), there was one product that I just couldn’t leave the store without:

from clarins.com

I had never seen concealer in a tube with a brush like this! And it’s easy not to use too much, because you just click the bottom a couple times (kind of like a mechanical pencil) and just enough comes out to coat the brush.

This was at the end of October, and I just ran out the other day, so the $32 hit I took ended up costing me 32 cents a day (4 months of wearing it 25 days each month = 100 days). I think 32 cents a day for concealer is probably worth it, but if I can get it even cheaper, you know I will.

So off I went to the drugstore, where I found similar products offered by a few different brands. I ended up going with this one because of price, shades available, and amount per tube (.22 oz):

from almay.com

And I gotta say, I can barely tell the difference between these products! I liked the flat brush Clarins used, but the Almay brush is softer. The actual concealer feels and looks the same when I apply it, but the Almay gets a little flaky towards the end of the day. And I could buy four Almay concealers for the price of one from Clarins…now we’ll just have to see how long it lasts.

from radioparadise.com

Now talk amongst yourselves! I’ll give you several topics:
-The last time you got your makeup done at a department store makeup counter. How’d it go?
-Buying generic/cheaper products with the hope that they’re as good as the brand names. Any not up to snuff?
-Sensitive skin woes caused/exacerbated by makeup.

Discuss.

6 Responses to “Nothing to Hide: Department Store vs. Drugstore Concealers”

  1. Mom March 12, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    I have that Almay concealer! It works well. You know how it went when I had my make up done in October. Way too much foundation, in fact cakey, but I liked the way she did my eyes, except for the fact of glowing concealer/highlighter (I’m not sure which it was) around my eyes. Would rather just do my own make up anytime.

  2. Jo March 12, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    I had my makeup done once when I was 16 and left looking like a hooker even after I’d specified NATURAL. I don’t even use concealer anymore because I went crazy with it as a teen and I cut back my makeup so much in response, but those brushes look awesome!

  3. goodskinday March 12, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    I’ve only been really pleased at two different counters: Perscriptives when I was like 15 and just starting to use makeup for real (not counting all that horrible glitter in middle school) and Benefit one rainy day when I didn’t want to leave the mall. I looked fresh and natural both times.

    For glamorous looks, I tend towards MAC, but always regret it because it’s just too, too much.

    Even though I’m no pro, I prefer my way every time.

  4. daily recommended December 20, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    whoah this weblog is magnificent i like studying your articles.

    Stay up the great work! You already know,
    lots of persons are searching round for this info, you could aid them
    greatly.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Exfoliants: Too Harsh in Winter? « goodskinday - April 2, 2011

    […] when I was at the Clarins counter getting my makeup done in October (already cold enough for my winter routine), the girl oohed and aahed over my skin (don’t you […]

  2. I’m a loner, Dottie, a rebel. « goodskinday - May 19, 2011

    […] skipped my Almay concealer for under my eyes, and probably could have skipped the powder foundation too, but it has become […]

Leave a comment